Health Level Seven International (HL7) is the global authority on standards for interoperability of health information technology with members in over 55 countries.

Join HL7 UK Here

What does HL7 do?

HL7 produces the world’s most widely used standards for healthcare interoperability. Most of the leading suppliers use and support the development of HL7 standards across six continents.

HL7 FHIR® is the current strategic technology for new interfaces from NHS Digital.

Influence the way in which UK-specific versions are developed. HL7 UK is now the main forum for discussion of interoperability between healthcare IT systems. Members include:

  • Central and policy organisations such as NHS Digital and NHS Wales Informatics Service
  • NHS Trusts and PCGs
  • Royal Colleges
  • Most of the largest suppliers of primary and secondary healthcare IT systems
  • Middleware suppliers
  • Consultants – from single-handers to huge multinationals.


There are four classes of membership, Organisation, Benefactor, Personal and Student – Check out the membership details.

If all or part of your business concerns healthcare IT system interoperability, you’re not properly informed unless you’re a member of HL7 UK. Have a look at the HL7 UK Member Testimonials.